Anaheim Area Blog

Mother Colony House

Disneyland Hotel Explore

One of Anaheim’s most famous landmarks can be found at 400 N West St. The Mother Colony House was one of the first buildings constructed in modern-day Anaheim. The construction of the house was started in 1857 by George Hansen. In 1863 he sold it to Francisco Rodriguez. The house was moved to its present site in 1928 and dedicated as a museum on March 14, 1929. This makes it the oldest museum in Orange County. The amazing American Territorial-style cottage includes three rooms and made from local redwood. The house is a favorite destination for history buffs and architect lovers enjoying the decorative crests of the gable roof and generous flaring eaves covering the entire porch.

History

Builder George Hansen created an addition to the house in the 1870s. Hansen, a local surveyor, worked for the Los Angeles Vineyard Society’s superintendent. Hansen along with 50 other German colonists came together in the mid-1800 to establish Anaheim. Hansen was known by his nickname, the Father of Anaheim.

View this post on Instagram

Taking it way back to 1857. Don’t miss a special tour of this historic home with @anaheimlibrary tomorrow! “George Hansen built his modest home on North Los Angeles Street. The oldest wood-framed building in Orange County, known today as the Mother Colony House, was moved to North West Street in 1928. Step back in time this Saturday, September 2, from 9:00 am to Noon at Founders' Park, for a self-guided tour through the Mother Colony House as well as the historic Woelke-Stoffel House. Our friendly docents will be on hand to provide a bit of historical background and to answer questions. Founders' Park is located at 400 North West Street in Anaheim.” #regram @anaheimlibrary

A post shared by Center City Anaheim (@ctrcityanaheim) on

Early Roots

Hansen’s house has since been home to a few families such as Tomas Yorba, Senora Vicenta Sepulveda de Carillo (a famed widow twice over) and Ramon Carrillo. During the 1920s the house was saved from demolition by the Daughters of the American Revolution. This organization moved the house from Anaheim Boulevard and Cypress to its current location at 14 North West Street.

The Oldest Museum

For twenty years, the Daughters of the American Revolution used the house as their meeting venue. JJ Dwyer, the husband of a member, established an endowment to secure the house. In 1950 the museum became a State Historical Landmark and was gifted to the City of Anaheim in 1954. The museum is situated near the Woelke-Stoffel house, another historic building well worth a visit during your Anaheim vacation.

Reasons to Book Direct

  • Disneyland Hotel News

    Low Rate Guarantee

  • Disneyland Hotel News

    #1 Hotel Rewards Program

  • Disneyland Hotel News

    Best Room Selection

Choose Your Dates